Farewell, old friend.

cycle-ops fluid trainer

On Friday morning, pressed for time and to avoid the rain, I did speed intervals on my indoor trainer. With 5 seconds to go in the final effort, the trainer gave up the ghost and left me spinning wheels without resistance.

My CycleOps Fluid trainer was an old one. From 1998. It was, in fact, a pre-production prototype from when I worked for the company. So I knew the design flaws and the weak points. And I knew it was just a matter of time before it would fail.

I was never a big fan of indoor trainers, especially after working countless trade shows and dealer events at CycleOps. But I had reprised it for its practicality and efficiency, whether it be an urban pre-race warm-up or a workout squeezed into the dark pre-dawn.

Farewell. Time for a replacement.

 

Leave a Reply

