First Time On Snow

20131213-064856.jpg

With the cold temperatures and the guns blasting at Weston, I got onto snow for the first time this season. It was only a few hundred meters in either direction but as good a start as we’ve had in the past few years.

It didn’t take long to a get a feel for skate skis on the white stuff. There’s always that sudden lateral slippage that comes from being used to rollerskis. I was really happy to be off wheels.

My technique came back quickly, much faster than other years, it seemed. Maybe the snow was much better. Maybe after years of doing this, I’m finally retaining some muscle memory.

I took my son with me. I watched his technique return too. We made a few refinements. He looked taller, more stable than last season. I almost didn’t recognize him.

There’s a big storm expected this weekend. We may have the full course before the end of it.

Leave a Reply

