Coming Soon: 1996

1996 was my make-or-break year in cycling.  I was 25 years old.  I was single for the first time in a long time.  I had worked all fall and winter and saved up some cash to augment my meager sponsorship from Kissena’s elite team.  I had given up on spring racing campaigns in Europe and decided focus on the “Fresca Cup” which was a national race series for riders without pro contracts.  My strategy was to race as many of these races as I could, place well in them, and finish somewhere in the top 10 overall.  It was an ambitious goal and one that I thought would help me to secure a pro contract.

In the coming weeks and months, I will be posting stories about this year on the bike, the places it took me and the people I met.  Because music was such an important part of being on the road, each story will have its own ‘soundtrack’.  Stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

