Rebound

running shoes training

In a month, I’m supposed to line up for the B.A.A. Half Marathon.  After 8 weeks off  and several rounds of acupuncture to address the plantar fasciitis, I just started running again.  The build up is agonizingly slow.  Risk of re-triggering the injury is high.  My feet still hurt like hell because they’re not used to the running mechanics.  It fades so quickly.  I’ve found myself wondering why I’m trying so hard.  I could easily fill the training with time on the bike or rollerskiing.  What am I running to?  Or from?

The first few runs were short:  15 minutes a piece, with lots of rests.  The next few felt better and I was able to add a few minutes at a time.  I’m now up to 23 minutes.  In between, I’m doing lots of stretching and specific strength exercises for my feet and lower legs.  It’s coming back, little by littel.

If all goes well, I’ll be able to run the 13.1 miles.  But I doubt I’ll be able to race it.

Leave a Reply

