Core Strength Circuit

core strength functional strength exercises

On Friday, I did a core strength circuit workout in the heat and humidity of the late afternoon.  In this workout, I do a series of exercises on a one minute interval, with no rest in between, just a little buffer to switch to the next exercise.  This is a really intense workout and one that I enjoy because of this intensity.  I usually do it with my ski group but sometimes I like to go it alone.

Equipment:  gym ball, medicine ball, yoga mat, wooden box (I use a picnic table bench at home)

Warm-up:  15-20 minutes easy run followed by dynamic stretches

Circuit (done twice with 3-5 min recovery between):

  1. V-sits w. med ball
  2. Tele jumps
  3. Russian twists
  4. Skate hops
  5. Dips
  6. Squats w. med ball throw
  7. Spider push-ups
  8. Kayaks w. med ball
  9. Lunges w. med ball
  10. Pike ups
  11. Hula hops
  12. Twist push-ups
  13. Box jumps
  14. Walking planks
  15. Driveway smashers w. med ball

Finish up with 12 minutes of abs and back exercises.

It’s a good idea to alternate between upper body, lower body and core, otherwise it will be tough to get through each session.  As the season progresses, I’ll add more exercises.  There seems to be no shortage of challenging and/or sadistic options, especially from some of the CSU coaches.

By the end of the workout, I was completely soaked with sweat and felt about 5 pounds lighter.  I spent the rest of the night drinking water (well, mostly water) to recover.

Leave a Reply

