A Long Run in the Rain

polar rcx5 run fartlegs intervals

It rained all day and when I got home from work, I went for a run in it. One hour and 13 minutes with fartleks. I had trouble keeping my heart rate within the zones defined by my new Polar RCX5 heart rate monitor. I suspect they need some fine tuning. I was trying to stay below anaerobic threshold (which I know better from feel than from number, but I suspect it’s somewhere around 170 bpm) for the longer intervals.

I ran the first 20 minutes COMPLETELY pain free, which is a milestone for me. After that, the pain was mostly self-inflicted from the intensity of the fartleks. Except for a few hotspots on my feet, the muscles and sinew held up well for the full distance.

Leave a Reply

