I’ve Been There

travel quetaltenango guatemala coffee

 Anytime some random city or town (often on NPR) is mentioned, I usually say, “I’ve been there.”  And I’ve usually been there for a bike race. It’s become a running joke with my wife and her friends.  In 25 years of bike racing and other sports, I’ve travelled a lot of places but I am by no means well travelled. It’s just strange how often they overlap.  I have seen some of the world from a bike and, for me, it’s been a far better way to get to know a place than as a tourist or a businessman.

Here are just a few of the places I’ve been for races, in no particular order:

Zanesville, Ohio
Mogollon, New Mexico
Newport, Vermont
Binghampton, New York
Quetzaltenango, Guatemala
Norman, Oklahoma
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Nagano, Japan
Modesto, California
Hull, Quebec
Wildwood, New Jersey
Monroe, New York
Marlboro, Massachusetts
Thiais, France

Those who’ve been on this circuit will appreciate the challenge of a finding a decent cup of coffee.

Leave a Reply

