Intensity Run

20120410-200517.jpg

With my first footrace just around the corner, I put in some intensity today.  It’s too late to get any real training effect at this point but I wanted to shock my system into some sort of readiness before Sunday’s race.  I’ve managed to put in some decent base mileage since the end of ski season (with just a little nagging tightness in my right hip and some soreness in my right ankle)…but no intervals to optimize my running muscles for race-level efforts.

I ran for 45 minutes–with my heart rate monitor going all haywire to the point that it was useless.  After a good warm up, I went through the following progression:

  • 5 minutes sub-threshold
  • 1 minute at “race pace”, which proved to be too high a pace, closer to a sprint.
  • 2 minutes at 5k race pace, on target, this time.
  • 5 minutes at 10k race pace, probably a more realistic pace for what I’ll run for 5k on Sunday.
  • 3 x 20-30 seconds accelerations, to work on turn-over speed, but I kept forgetting to breathe.

I was feeling it my legs and lungs by the end, but I wasn’t exhausted, and I didn’t appear to tweak anything.  Tomorrow morning may reveal a different outcome.

Leave a Reply

